Zagreb, October 22, 2020 - Two employees of the Croatian Olympic Committee (COC) - Head of Athletes’ Health Care Program Mimi Vurdelja and Head of the Research and Development Program Enhancement Department Neven Šavora are the winners of the national State Award for Sports Franjo Bučar for 2020 in the category of annual laureates. Besides them, a member of the Croatian Olympic Committee’s Council Željan Konsuo will also receive the same recognition for this year. Other winners of the annual award are Pero Kuterovac, Bruno Bošnjak, Slaven Zambata, Stojko Vranković, Slavko Cvitković, Paulo Obradović, Rea Hraski, Matija Gubica and Boris Milošević. 

The winners of the State Award for Sports Franjo Bučar for Lifetime Achievement are also known: legendary coach with ten Olympic medals Ante Kostelić, top player and coach, winner of two Olympic medals Petar Skansi and water polo legend, holder of three Olympic medals Ivo Trumbić.  

- Congratulations to all the winners of this award, the highest recognition awarded by the Republic of Croatia for exceptional achievements and contributions of special importance for the development of sports. We know that this Committee never has an easy task, but it is just a confirmation of how many excellent, great and deserving names the Croatian sport consists. This year's list of winners includes the names of Croatian athletes, coaches and sports workers who have glorified our homeland around the world. The Franjo Bučar Award is named after the father of Croatian sports and in this, in everything completely different year, it represents an additional indicator of how proud we are of everything that his successors are achieving - said the Minister of Tourism and Sports Nikolina Brnjac. 

Each winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented a charter and a gold medal with the image of Franjo Bučar and a monetary amount of HRK 50,000, while the winners of the annual award will receive a charter and a medal with the image of Franjo Bučar and a monetary amount of HRK 20,000.

The winners of the awards based on the proposals received for this year's competition were decided by the State Award for Sports Franjo Bučar Committee, consisting of: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sc. Tomislav Krističević (President), and Marijeta Ćelić , Vlado Šola, Perica Bukić, Damir Martin, Stipe Pletikosa, Stojko Vranković, Mihovil Španja and Ana-Marija Vuković (members).  

The President of the Croatian Olympic Committee Zlatko Mateša and Secretary General Josip Čop congratulated the laureates on the prestigious award! (HINA – Croatian News Agency/COC/VK)