Lausanne, 30 July 2020 – A new big recognition came to the former Croatian president Kolinda Grabar Kitarović, since recently the first Croatian female member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). At the suggestion of the IOC President Thomas Bach, she was appointed to the prestigious IOC’s Future Host Commission for selection of hosts of the (Summer and Winter) Olympic Games.

The Committee is led by Norwegian Kristin Kloster Aasen and - in addition to Kolinda Grabar Kitarović, -its other members are: Richard Pound (Canada), Lingwei Li (China), Filomena Fortes (Cape Verde), Luis Meija Oviedo (Dominican Republic), Andrew Parsons ( Brazil), Sarah Walker (New Zealand), Paul Tergat (Kenya) and Francesco Ricci Bitti (Italy).

Since they the hosts of the biggest Olympic events until 2028 (Los Angeles Olympics) are known, the first decision of the IOC’s Future Host Commission for selection of host of Summer and Winter Olympics, in which the Croatian member will participate as well, shall be the selection of host of Winter Olympics 2030. (IOC/COC/VK)