MIES, August 23, 2017 ( COC/ Hina) – As announced on Wednesday, the famous Croatian basketball player Toni Kukoč made up to FIBA Hall of Fame’s 2017 Class of Inductees, along with the great American center player Shaquille O'Neal and the original “Dream Team”, the U.S. Olympic Basketball Team that performed at the Barcelona Olympics 1992.

During his career as a player with Jugoplastika, Kukoč has won three consecutive European Champion titles (1989, 1990, 1991) and after joining the NBA League as a Chicago Bulls player he won three consecutive Champion titles in the strongest world basketball league (1996, 1997, 1998) .

He was proclaimed three times the EuroLeague Final Four Most Valuable Player (1990, 1991, 1993) and in the 1995/96 season. He has also won the NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award.

With the National Olympic Basketball Team of the former Yugoslavia, Kukoč won the World Champion in Argentina in 1990, where has was also proclaimed the MVP, and two European Champion titles (1989, 1991). He won two silver medals at the Olympics, with Yugoslavia in Seoul in 1988 and with Croatia in Barcelona in 1992. After silver in Barcelona, ​​Kukoč won two more bronze medals as member of the Croatian Olympic Basketball Team, at the World Championships in 1994 in Canada and at Eurobasket in 1995 in Athens.

O'Neal is one of the best centers in the basketball history and during his longstanding NBA career he won four Champion titles, three consecutive titles with the L. A. Lakers (2000, 2001, 2002) and one with Miami Heat (2006). He also won the title of the MVP in the NBA league in 1999/2000 season, he was proclaimed three times the NBA Finals MVP, 15 times he played at the All-Star Games, twice he was proclaimed the NBA Scoring Champion (1994/95 and 1999/2000) and as a member of the American Olympic Team he won gold at the Atlanta Olympics 1996 and the title of the World Champion in Canada in 1994.

Apart from Kukoč and O'Neal, the list of 2017 generation inductees includes Mickey Berkowitz (Israel), Pero Cameron (New Zealand), Razija Mujanović (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Valdis Valters (Latvia), with Dušan Ivković (Serbia) joining them as a coach.

The Honors Committee of the FIBA Hall of Fame exceptionally decided to reward the outstanding contributions of the best basketball team of all time, the “Dream Team” that brought together such notables as Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Charles Barkley, Karl Malone and David Robinson, on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of its remarkable appearance.

The official ceremony of induction in the FIBA’s ​Hall of Fame - House of Basketball, situated at the FIBA ​​headquarters in Geneva - will be held on September 30.