Zagreb, September 10, 2011 – At the occasional Academy, held on September 10, 2011 in Zagreb, the Croatian Olympic Committee celebrated its 20th anniversary. At the ceremony, attended by the President of the International Olympic Committee Jacques Rogge, President of the European Olympic Committees Patrick Joseph Hickey, Croatian President Ivo Josipović, Government of the Republic of Croatia and its President Jadranka Kosor, the host, President of the Croatian Olympic Committee Zlatko Mateša and many other notables, the Croatian Olympic Committee presented the young, promising Croatian athletes the award Dražen Petrović.

The award for the most promising female athlete of younger age category went to the table tennis player Lea Rakovac, the winner of one silver and four bronze medals at the European Youth Championships in 2010 and 2011. The award for the most promising athlete went to the swimmer Mihael Vukić, European champion and winner of silver medal at the World Championships in the discipline 50m butterfly.

In men's team competition, the award went to the National Basketball Team - U16 – consisting of: Lovre Bašić, Ivan Jukić, Paolo Marinelli, Domagoj Bošnjak, Mario Hezonja, Bruno Žganec, Dorian Jelenek, Tomislav Gabrić, Leon Tomić, Marko Arapović, Ivan Bender, Karlo Žganec, winners of gold medal at the European Championships in the Czech Republic. In women's team competition, the award went to the national junior table tennis team, consisting of: Mateja Jeger, Petra Petek, Ivana Tubikanec, the winners of bronze medal at the European Championships in July.

According to the Ordinance on the Presentation of the Award, Lea Rakovac, Josip Zajec and Mihael Vukić will receive the prizes in cash, in the gross amount of HRK 20.000,00, while each member of the women and men's team shall receive the prizes in cash in the gross amount of HRK 2.000,00.

The decision on the selection of the winner was brought by the Croatian Olympic Committee's Board for presentation of the "Dražen Petrović" award for 2011, consisting of: Marijan Maras, Zvjezdana Tuma Pavlov, Dragutin Kamenski (Croatian Olympic Committee), Iva Perdec – Augustić, Romana Caput – Jogurica, Vinko Knežević (Croatian Sports Journalists Association), Zoran Primorac, Martina Zubčić and Mario Ančić (Croatian Olympians Club).